Kogi Assembly recalls four suspended members

The Kogi State House of Assembly has announced that four of its suspended members have been recalled after seven months.

The Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Mathew Kolawole, announced the lifting of the suspension during plenary on Tuesday in Lokoja.

The four lawmakers recalled are former Deputy Speaker, Ahmed Mohammed;  former majority leader, Bello Balogun; Idris Ndakwo (Lokoja II); and former Deputy Chief whip, Moses Ododo.

The lawmakers were suspended in June 2022 for alleged gross misconduct, which was investigated by the house committee on ethics and privileges.

The Assembly speaker, Kolawole said the suspended lawmakers were recalled to foster peace  and harmony among members as the seventh Assembly gradually comes to an end.

Reading the findings of the house committee on ethics and privileges, the committee chairman, and Assembly Chief Whip,  Ahmed Dahiru, said the suspended members were remorseful for their actions and should be recalled to perform legislative duties.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Back to top button