Business News

Assam Citizen Award | 21 award winners include oncologist, lawn bowler, mask maker, crematorium volunteer


An oncologist, mobile theater veteran, lawn bowler, mask maker and crematorium volunteer were among the 21 personalities honored with Assam’s civic awards.

The awards, similar to the Padma Awards, were presented by Governor Gulab Chand Kataria in the presence of Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on the evening of 24 March.

Awards were given to 21 personalities for their outstanding contribution in the fields of health, arts and culture, sports, science, agriculture, tourism and entrepreneurship.

Assam Baibhav, the highest civilian award, was presented to oncologist Tapan Kumar Saikia for his contribution to cancer care and public service. Hailing from Naharkatiya in eastern Assam, he is currently the Director of Oncology at Jaslok Hospital and Research Center in Mumbai.

Assam Sourav Award was presented to five personalities. They are Krishna Roy for his contribution to the popularity and sustenance of the state’s unique mobile theatre, former footballer Gilbertson Sangma, lawn bowler Nayan Moni Saikia who won a gold medal in the last Commonwealth Games, scientist Binoy Kumar Saikia and health expert Shashidhar Phukan who worked Done extensively in Majuli.

Assam Gaurav Award was given to 15 personalities. The top five are Dhritimala Deka for volunteering to cremate over 300 people, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic, Debajit Barman for her contribution to holistic farming, Rustom Basumatary for promoting tourism, Agri-tourism for his contribution to Manje La, and for Binanda Hatibarua. their role in conservation.

Other Assam Sourav Award recipients are retired IAF officer Atul Chandra Baruah, for rehabilitating abandoned, sick and oppressed old women at his care home, Kalyani Rajbanshi for entrepreneurship through a self-help group, as an ASHA worker. Sila Gowala, silk farmer Jogesh Deuri, poultry entrepreneur Pankaj Lal Gogoi, progressive farmer Sarbeshwar Basumatary, pineapple farmer and exporter Manthang Hamar, horticulturist Dhruba Jyoti Sarma, mask maker Dayal Goswami, and anti-AIDS and anti-drugs Syed Iftikhar Ahmed.

Awards include free medical treatment in government hospitals and paid cabin stay wherever available, free accommodation in state government circuit houses, guesthouses and Assam Bhavan, regular invitations to official functions as distinguished guests, treatment for serious illnesses ₹ 2 lakh as medical expenses for the same. And free travel is provided in Assam State Transport Corporation buses 24 hours prior notice of travel is given.

X This is your last free article.


Back to top button