Ondo PDP rep member concedes defeat, congratulates APC’s Odimayo

Gboluga Ikengboju, member representing Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency in the National Assembly, has conceded defeat and congratulated the winner of the February 25 election, Okujimi Odimayo.

Mr Ikengboju of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost to Mr Odimayo of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 22,066 votes against 44,638 votes.

The PDP candidate also congratulated Jimoh Ibrahim, senator-elect for Ondo South Senatorial District and the House of Assembly members-elect for Okitipupa Constituency I and II, Chris Ayebusiwa and Olalade Gbegudu, respectively, for their victory at the polls.

This is contained in a statement by the lawmaker’s media aide, Oyeniyi Iwakun, on Sunday in Okitipupa.

Mr Ikengboju implored all his followers and supporters to remain calm and accept the outcome of the elections in good faith.

He, however, urged the winners to be magnanimous in victory while prioritising the development and interest of the masses over personal or sectional interest.

He said elections have come and gone and winners have emerged. He stressed that political aspiration should not be a do-or-die affair, therefore, all hands must be on deck to ensure that Ikale land is not short-changed.

“Beyond politics, Odimayo is a friend and brother to me, therefore, activities preceding, during and after the elections should not be misconstrued as fighting; elections are an integral part of our political system.

“I will be available to give every necessary support and advice to my successor to ensure that he succeeds in his new assignment,” Mr Ikengboju said. 


Back to top button