Buhari media aides, photographers, others share in exit largesse

A coterie of presidential aides are among 339 Nigerians awarded the Special National Honours Award by President Muhammadu Buhari as he leaves office on May 29.

Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, and Laolu Akande, the Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity (Office of the Vice President) were conferred with the Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON).

Abiodun Oladunjoye, the director of information at the State House, confirmed this in a statement on Sunday in Abuja.

He also mentioned that Tijjani Umar, State House permanent secretary, also received the National Honour of OON.

The resident’s personal photographers Bayo Omoboriowo and Sunday Aghaeze bagged Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR) and Member of the Order of the Niger (MON), respectively.

Also listed for the National Honours Award are Tolu Ogunlesi, the Special Assistant to the President on Digital and New Media, MON; Tolani Alli and personal photographer to the Vice President, MFR.

Other beneficiaries of the award are; Adamu Sambo, NTA correspondent and his cameraman, Emmanuel Anrihi. Both bagged MFR.

An official publication by the Federal Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs advised the award recipients to come to the office of the Ministry to collect their certificates and medals on Thursday, June 1, 2023.


Back to top button