House of Reps will make history under Abass, Kalu — Lawmaker 

The lawmaker representing Ado/Okpokwu/Ogbadido Federal Constituency, Hon. Philip Agbese, has said that the 10th House of Representatives will make history under the leadership of Rt Hon Tajudeen Abbas.

Agbese spoke to newsmen on Tuesday after the emergence of principal officers of the House of Representatives.

Julius Ihonvbere (Edo, House Majority Leader), Halims Abdullahi (Kogi, Deputy Majority Leader), Bello Kumo (Gombe, Chief Whip), and Adewunmi Onanuga and (Ogun, Deputy Chief Whip) emerged via consensus.

Abbas also read a letter from the Minority Caucus that detailed the names of the principal officers.

The letter named Kingsley Chinda (PDP, Minority Leader), Aliyu Madaki (NNPP, Deputy Minority Leader), Ali Isah (PDP, Minority Whip), and George Ozodinobi (Labour Party, Deputy Minority Whip).

Agbese noted that the way and manner the Speaker conducted the entire process shows that he is on track to break new ground.

He described the exercise as rancor-free, smooth, and flawless, unlike in times past when lawmakers were at loggerheads.

The Benue lawmaker described Abbas as humble, resolute, and dedicated to the Nigerian cause and has already brought his wealth of experience and exposure to good use.

Agbese further noted that he was even more impressed by the synergy, insight, and cooperation between Abbas and his deputy, Rt Hon Benjamin Kalu so far.

According to him, their relationship and mutual respect, as well as their colleagues have stabilised the House, ensuring a speedy takeoff.

He said the Green Chamber, under the leadership of Abbas, is focused on its constitutional mandate and not on politicking.

Agbese, therefore, expressed optimism that Nigerians will soon begin to reap the dividends of the House of Reps.

Back to top button