Hot Stories

Tinubu to Ministers: Hit the ground running, prioritise nation’s interests, welfare

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has charged the 45 newly inaugurated ministers to prioritise the interests and welfare of the entire nation and its diverse population, above any regional or state-specific considerations.

Speaking at the inauguration of new members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) at the State House Conference Centre Monday, President Tinubu underscored the immense responsibility the ministers now bear in shaping policies that will significantly influence the lives of hundreds of millions of Nigerians.

“You are not a minister of a particular state, colony, region, or ethnic nationality. You are a minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” President Tinubu declared, setting the tone for his directive to the new ministers.

“This is all about the cohesion and work of a great team, and I believe we now have it. It is an honour to be chosen to serve as a minister in the Federal Executive Council, and such a high honour comes with tremendous responsibility.

“In this moment of abundant promise and peril in equal measure, all of you that have been sworn in have been called to distinguish yourselves. Nigerians are highly expectant of excellence in service delivery, accountability, and transparency,” he said.

The president also reminded the new ministers that they cannot disappoint Nigerians, who expect them to serve with integrity, dignity and competence to actualise the Renewed Hope manifesto of the administration — failing which he will not hesitate to take necessary remedial measures.

“As your country honours you today, you must each work to make yourselves worthy in the eyes of God and our entire nation’s people.

“Your highest obligation is to restore public faith in government so that our people can once again believe that government can be a positive force for transformation and a vehicle for collective progress of all citizens of this great country,” President Tinubu said, while congratulating each of the ministers and welcoming them to “the administration of Renewed Hope.”

He said the newly appointed ministers were selected based on their track records of excellence in both the public and private sectors, noting their effective representation of the rich diversity present within Nigeria.

Expressing his wishes for the success of the cabinet members in the discharge of their duties, the president invoked a metaphor of a journey, in which he is the driver of a vehicle, along with all Nigerians as passengers.

“In this new assignment, we are in this boat together, even if it is a vehicle, I am the driver. The entire nation sits watchful, as you and I navigate this vehicle.

“We must hold each other responsible. We have to do the job to meet the expectations of all Nigerians. God be with you, and God bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.


The event, which took place at the Conference Centre of the Presidential Villa in Abuja, was attended by Vice President Kashim Shettima, Senate President Godswill Akpabio and Speaker House Representatives Tajudeen Abbas.

Others were the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) Senator George Akume and Chairman Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) and Kwara state Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

The ministers were sworn in nine batches with the first comprising Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice Lateef Fagbemi (SAN), Minister of State for Labour and Employment Nkiruka Onyejeocha, Minister of State (Gas) for Petroleum Resources Ekperikpe Ekpo, Minister of Women Affairs Uju Kennedy, and Minister of Education Professor Tahir Maman.

The second batch had Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare Professor Ali Pate, Minister of Foreign Affairs Yusuf Tuggar, Minister of State (Oil) Petroleum Resources Heineken Lokpobiri, Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation Professor  Joseph Utsev and Minister of Agriculture and Food Security Abubakar Kyari.

Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation Betta Edu, Minister of Sports Development John Enoh, Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development Festus Keyamo(SAN), Minister of Works Dave Umahi, and Minister of Niger Delta Development Abubakar Momoh formed the third batch.

In the fourth batch were Minister of Solid Minerals Development Dele Alake, Minister of Innovation Science and Technology Uche Nnaji, Minister of Transportation Alkali Sa’id, Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment Doris Anite, and Minister of Defence Mohammed Badaru.

Also inaugurated were Minister of State, Housing and Urban Development Abdullahi Gwarzo, Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Mariya Mahmud, Minister of Housing and Urban Development Ahmed Dangiwa, Minister of Art, Culture and Creative Economy Hannatu Musawa, and Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu who all formed the fifth batch.

In the sixth batch were Minister of State for Education Yusuf Sunumu, Minister of Steel Development Shuaibu Audu, Minister of State for Health and Social Welfare Tunji Alausa, Minister of Tourism Lola Ade-John, and Minister of State, Police Affairs, Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim.

The seventh batch had Minister of State, Agriculture and Food Security Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Idris (Malagi), Minister of State for  Environment Ishak Salako, Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy Wale Edun, and Minister of Communications, Innovation and Digital Economy Bosun Tijani.

In the eighth batch were Minister of Interior Bunmi Tunji-Ojo, Minister of Marine and Blue Economy Adegboyega Oyetola, Minister of Power Adebayo Adelabu, Minister of Labour and Employment Simon Lalong, and Minister of Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Nyesome Wike.

The ninth and final batch had Minister of State for Water Resources and Sanitation Bello Goronyo, Minister of State for Steel Development Maigari Ahmadu, Minister of Police affairs Ibrahim Geidam, Minister of State for Defence Bello Matawalle, and Minster of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs Zephaniah Jisalo.

Wike talks tough  

Addressing journalists on his mission and vision, FCT Minister Wike said he would demolish all illegal buildings and structures in the nation’s capital territory as part of effort to restore the Abuja Master Plan.

He said: “It is not going to be business as usual. Those distorting Abuja Master Plan: if you build where you are not supposed to, the building will go down.

Back to top button