APC suspends 26 members in Osun for working against party

On Thursday, the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Osun announced the suspension of 26 party members for alleged anti-party activities after expelling 84 members for the same reason on Wednesday.

The suspension is contained in a statement signed by Sooko Lawal, Osun APC chairman.

The party said the suspension is due to complaints and allegations of factionalisation of the party brought against the affected members.

“Following complaints of anti-party activities, the State Executive Committee of the Osun State chapter of the APC constituted a disciplinary committee to investigate the allegations against some of its members,” said the statement. “This disciplinary measure comes in response to the allegations of misconduct bordering on factionalisation of the party and creating parallel party organ.”

The APC added, “The disciplinary committee undertook a thorough and impartial review of the allegations, and the findings were carefully deliberated upon by the State Executive Committee. After a comprehensive assessment of the evidence and consideration of the committee’s recommendations, the state executive committee has taken the difficult, yet necessary, step.”

Moshood Adeoti, Najeem Salami, Mudasiru Hussain, Adelowo Adebiyi, Adelani Baderinwa, Mr Sikiru Ayedun, Kazeem Salami, Adesiji Azeez, Gbenga Akano, Kunle Ige, Biodun Agboola, Gbenga Awosode, Rasheed Opatola, Gbenga Ogunkanmi, Israel Oyekunle, MBO Ibraheem, Akeem Olaoye, Francis Famurewa, Tajudeen Famuyide, Adenike Abioye, Wasiu Adebayo, Rasheed Afolabi, Mr Segun Olanibi, Tunde Ajilore, Mr Ganiyu Ismaila Opeyemi, and Zakariah Khalid-Olaoluwa were suspended.

“As we move forward, we enjoin our members to remain focused on our goals and continue working together to serve the interests of our constituents and our state,” said the APC statement. “Our commitment to transparency, inclusivity, and adherence to our party’s core values remains unwavering.”

The party chair, on Wednesday, announced the expulsion of 84 members for allegedly taking up appointments under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) government in Osun. 


Back to top button