Gombe gov leads APC campaign for Bayelsa poll, Wike dropped

ef muhammad inuwa yahaya

The Abdullahi Ganduje-led National Working Committee of All Progressives Congress has released a 495-man list to drive the party’s campaign in the November 11 governorship election in Bayelsa State.

In the list released by the governing party on Saturday, Gombe State Governor, Inuwa Yahaya, was named as the chairman of the campaign council. It was also observed that the name of the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory and former Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, a member of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, which was previously on the list had been removed.

A statement signed by the party’s National Organising Secretary, Sulaiman Argungu, noted that Yahaya would be assisted by the Defence Minister, Mohammed Badaru; Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume, as co-chairmen.

The candidate of the party, Timipre Sylva, is contesting against incumbent governor Douye Diri and 18 other candidates.

The ruling party had disowned the viral document containing notable names of chairmen, co-chairmen and members of the campaign council, including Wike’s name.

Some PDP members and concerned Nigerians had expressed surprise over the inclusion of Wike’s name, having been named a week earlier as a member of the PDP campaign council for the same Bayelsa governorship election.

Back to top button