Business News

Wike sacks 21 Heads of FCTA parastatals, agencies, companies

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, has approved the immediate termination of the appointments of 21 heads of parastatals, agencies, and government companies of the FCT Administration (FCTA).

This disclosure is contained in a press statement issued by the Director of Press. Office of the Minister, Anthony Ogunleye, on Wednesday, September 27, 2023.

Wike, in the statement by Ogunleye, ordered the affected appointees to hand over the affairs of their offices to the most senior officers in rank, adding that appointment into the vacant offices will be made in due course.

Affected heads of agencies

The statement from Ogunleye reads,

  • ‘’The Honourable Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Barrister Ezenwo Nyesom Wike CON, has relieved the heads of the following parastatals, agencies and government companies of the FCTA of their appointments with immediate effect.

They are:

  1. Group MD/CEO, Abuja investment Company Ltd
  2. CEO/MD, Abuja Markets Management Ltd
  3. MD/CEO, Abuja Urban Mass Transport Company
  4. CEO/MD, Abuja Property Development Company
  5. CEO/MD Abuja Technology Village Free Trade Zone Company
  6. CEO/MD Abuja Film Village International
  7. CEO/MD Powernoth AICL Equipment Leasing Company Ltd
  8. MD Abuja Broadcasting Corporation
  9. MD, Abuja Enterprise Agency
  10. GM, FCT Water Board
  11. DG, FCT Emergency Management Agency
  12. Executive Secretary, FCT Primary Healthcare Board
  13. Director General, Hospital Management Board
  14. Director, Abuja Environmental Protection Board
  15. Director, FCT Scholarship Board
  16. Director FCT Christian Pilgrims Welfare Board
  17. Director, Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board
  18. Coordinator, Abuja Infrastructure Investment Center
  19. Director, FCT Health Insurance Scheme
  20. Coordinator, Satellite Towns Development Department
  21. Coordinator, Abuja Metropolitan Management Council
  • ‘’They are to hand over the affairs of their offices to the most senior officers in rank. Appointments into the offices will be made in due course.’’

What you should know

  • In a related development, President Bola Tinubu had earlier in September approved the appointment of Mandate Secretaries for the FCTA.
  • The appointees are: Mr. Bitrus L. Garki, Secretary, Area Council Services Secretariat; Lawan Kolo Geidam, Secretary, Agriculture and Rural Development Secretariat; Mr. Danlami Ihayyo, Secretary, Education; and, Dr. Adedolapo A. Fasawe, Secretary, Health and Human Services Secretariat.
  • Others are Barrister Salman Dako, Secretary, Legal Services Secretariat; Barrister Chinedum Elechi, Secretary, Economic Planning, Revenue Generation and PPP, Arch. Uboku Tom Nyah, Secretary, Transportation Secretariat; and, Alhaji Muntari Abdulkadir, Secretary, Social Development Secretariat.
  • Wike, later at their inauguration, tasked the secretaries on the need to address issues affecting the delivery of services in FCT Administration by transforming the capital city.

Download TheTimes App for breaking news and market intelligence.
    app store banner

Back to top button