Hot Stories

How Tribunal sacked 2 PDP lawmakers, returned APC’s Wallongko, Dadon in Plateau Assembly

The Plateau state National and House of Assemblies Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Jos, has sacked Hon. Maren Ishaku, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), from the Bokkos seat in the state House of Assembly.

The unanimous judgement of the tribunal 1, Justice Omaka Olekwa, said Hon. Wallangko Sylvester Ibrahim and his All Progressives Congress (APC), has the locus standi to petition and that the tribunal had jurisdiction to determine the matter.

According to the tribunal, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), had not exhibited its neutrality as an impartial umpire, when it responded to the issues of the PDP’s non-compliance to court orders, as raised by the petitioners and also went further to present some contradictory documents.

“On the issue of compliance by the PDP, the INEC contradictory reports was not supported by any witness. In regards of the two contradictory documents I have no option than to rely on the decisions of the court of appeal available before me, as filed by the petitioners, which says the PDP cannot nominate any candidate. 

“The decision of the court of appeal in a recent election held on 26 Feb, 2022, is subsisting. The 2nd respondent is therefore, not qualified to contest for the election into Bokkos state constituency.

“Consequently, Wallongko Sylvester Ibrahim, is hereby declared winner of the election, all votes in favour of the 2nd (PDP) respondent are null and void,” Justice Omaka Olekwa, held.

The tribunal held  that having the PDP failed to complied with Court orders directing it, to hold legal Congress, has no right to nominate any candidate for any election.

The tribunal declared that Hon. Wallangko Sylvester Ibrahim of the All Progressives Congress, is the winner of the election.

Similarly, the tribunal sacked, Hon. Dantong Dalyop of the PDP, out of the seat of Riyom state constituency, for the party’s disobedience to court orders.

The tribunal in yet another lead judgement by Justice Muhammad Tukur, returned Mr. Dachung Moses Dadon, of the APC.

The two separate judgements, ordered INEC, to withdraw certificates of return from both Hon. Maren Ishaku of Bokkos constituency, and Hon. Dantong Dalyop, of Riyom constituency.

It further ordered INEC to issue certificates of returns to, Hon. Wallangko Sylvester Ibrahim as duly elected member to represent Bokkos constituency, and Hon. Dachung Moses Dadon, to represent Riyom constituency, respectively.

Back to top button