Mass Defection As 26 Pro-Wike Lawmakers Dump PDP, Join APC

26 members of the Rivers State House of Assembly, aligned with the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, have officially switched their allegiance from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers, led by the factional Speaker, Rt. Hon. Matthew Amaewhule, publicly declared their defection through a letter presented on the floor of the Assembly on Monday.

In the jointly signed letter, addressed to the acting chairman of PDP in the state, the 26 legislators mentioned the division within the national leadership of the PDP as the primary factor influencing their decision to depart from the party.

Back to top button