Kogi Assembly screens 16 Commissioner nominees, ratifies nine aides

The Kogi State House of Assembly on Tuesday screened 16 Commissioner nominees and nine others with portfolios.

They commissioner-nominees were nominated by the new Governor, Usman Ododo.

Out of the 16 screened Commissioner nominees, seven are returnees, while nine are new.

Also Read:

The seven Commissioner returnees are: Salami Ozigi-Deedat, Bashiru Abubakar-Gegu, Wemi Jones, Kingsley Fanwo, Timothy Ojoma, Asiwaju Idris-Asiru and Mohammed Abdulmutalib.

The nine new nominees screened are: Farouk Danlam, Adams Abdulaziz, Joseph Oluwasegun-Stephen, Muzi Yinusa-Abdullahi, Rabiatu Okute, Fatima Momoh, Mohammed Yusuf, Sunday Faleke and Abanika Taye.

Other nominees with portfolios, whose names were sent to the Assembly for confirmation are: Ali Bello, Chief of Staff to the Governor; Hilary Ojoma, Deputy Chief of Staff and Elijah Evinemi, Head of Service.

Also on the list are Jerry Omodara, State Security Adviser; Isah Ismail, Special Adviser on Media; Sulaiman Ibrahim, Director-General Protocol; Oladele Nihi, Chief Press Secretary; Shaibu Oricha, Director-General Government House Administration; and Femi Adegboyega, State Legal Adviser.

Sequel to time lag as claimed by the Assembly, all the 16 Commissioner nominees only appeared, introduced themselves and took a bow and left without answering a single question from the lawmakers.

The Speaker of the House, Umar Yusuf, commended members of the house for a job well done at screening of the 25 nominees, whom he described as credible and qualified sons and daughters of Kogi State.Yusuf tasked the nominees to live up to expectations of Governor Ododo, whom he said nominated them to assist him pilot the affairs of the state to greater heights.

Back to top button