Edo APC Primary: Niger Delta cabal working against party – Buhari’s ex-aide, Onochie

Former President Muhammadu Buhari’s media aide, Lauretta Onochie on Thursday alleged that a Niger Delta cabal is trying to frustrate the All Progressives Congress, APC, ahead of its primary election in Edo State.

Onochie said the Niger Delta cabal is trying to frustrate the Chairman of the primary election committee and Governor of Cross Rivers State, Bassey Otu, from ensuring that the right thing is done.

Posting on X with the title, ‘EDO APC PRIMARY’, Onochie accused the cabal of keeping the Niger Delta in abject poverty.

She wrote: “Gov. Bassey Otu of Cross River State is trying to hold it together in Edo State. He’s trying really hard to give APC a fighting chance in the next gubernatorial race for Edo State.

“But the Edo arm of the Niger Delta Cabal, are bent on having their way.

“Yes, Niger Delta Cabal. They have kept our region in poverty, abject poverty. But who cares!”

This is coming after former Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State accused Edo North Senator, Adams Oshiomhole, of trying to ensure the APC loses the forthcoming governorship election.

Recall that APC had cancelled its primary election in Edo State after the process produced three parallel winners.

The governor of Imo State, Hope Uzodinma, immediate past chairman of the primary election committee, had declared Dennis Idahosa the winner of the election.

But Ojo Babatunde, spokesperson of the returning officers, declared Sunday Dekeri, a lawmaker representing the Etsako federal constituency in the House of Representatives, as the winner of the primary.

On Monday, the event took another turn as Monday Okpebholo, the senator representing Edo Central, claimed that he won the election with over 6,000 votes.

The controversy led to the APC declaring the primary election in the state inconclusive.

APC also fixed Thursday, February 22, 2024, for the completion of the primary election process while Governor Bassey Otu of Cross River State was named as the chairman of the primary election committee.

Back to top button