Tinubu chairs committee to oversee green economy initiatives 

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has established a Presidential Committee on Climate Action and Green Economic Solutions to ensure the advancement of his administration’s climate and green economic initiatives.

The committee is chaired by the president while the Minister of Environment, Mr Balarabe Abbas Lawal, would serve as vice chairman.

The president appointed Chief Ajuri Ngelale as the Special Presidential Envoy on Climate Action. Ngelale will serve in this role as part of a larger Presidential Committee to be chaired by the president.

The Presidential Committee on Climate Action and Green Economic Solutions will coordinate all policies and programmes on climate action and green economic development.

The committee would remove the constraints to coordination, foster a whole-of-government approach to climate-action programmes, provide an efficient governance architecture, and ensure that all relevant institutions in the sector are plugged into the president’s vision and are collectively implementing the Renewed Hope Agenda on climate action.

Members of the committee are Lazarus Angbazo (CEO, InfraCorp), Salisu Dahiru (CEO, NCCC), Michael Ohiani (CEO, ICRC), Aisha Rimi (CEO, NIPC), Aminu Umar-Sadiq (CEO, NSIA), Yusuf Maina-Bukar (CEO, NAGGW), Abdullahi Mustapha (CEO, ECN), Abba Abubakar Aliyu (CEO, REA), Uzoma Nwagba (CEO, CrediCorp) and Khalil Halilu (CEO, NASENI).

Others include Fatima Shinkafi (CEO, SMDF), Bala Bello (Deputy Governor, CBN), Lolade Abiola (UN SE4ALL), Teni Majekodunmi (NCCC Adviser) and the representatives of Federal Inland Revenue Service, Nigeria Customs Service, Ministry of FCT, Federal Ministry of Finance, Federal Ministry of Power, Federal Ministry of Water Resources, Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security and the Federal Ministry of Industry, Trade and Investment.

The presidential committee would, among other functions, identify, develop and implement innovative non-oil and non-gas climate action initiatives; coordinate all activities of relevant federal institutions towards the attainment of all agreed climate action and green economic objectives and non-oil/non-gas ambitions of the federal government; and collaborate with all relevant government, subnational governments, non-government and civil society entities towards the attainment of the climate action objectives and ambitions of the federal government.

Back to top button