Yobe CJ inaugurates 27-member LG election petition, appeal tribunal 

Yobe state Chief Judge, Justice Gumna Kashim Kaigama, Thursday, inaugurated 27 chairmen and members of the Local Government Election Petition and Appeal Tribunal in the state.

The ceremony took place at the Conference Hall of the state High Court of Justice in Damaturu.

Addressing journalists shortly after the inauguration,  Justice Gumna said the tribunals comprises of tribunal that will hear the election petition at first instance and appeal tribunal that will hear and determine all matters brought arising from the decision of the lower tribunal.

The CJ added that two tribunals were created for each of the three senatorial districts in the state  that  would have original decision to hear and determine election petitions.

He stated further that the other tribunal is the appeal tribunal which was created, one for each of the three senatorial zones of the state.

“Now, a lower tribunal and the appeal tribunal comprises of three members, the chairman and other members.

“Their main objective is to hear and determine election petitions arising from the local government election. This is their primary  duty,” said the Yobe Chief Judge.

He appealed to members of the tribunal to work hard and do justice to each of the petitions that may be brought before them, adding that people are watching them.

Back to top button