FG to flag off construction of additional 2,000 Renewed Hope Housing units in 8 states

The Minister of Housing and Urban Development, Architect Ahmed Musa Dangiwa, is set to officially flag off construction work for an additional 2,000 housing units in eight (8) states in the South and North Central zones of the country in continuation of the groundbreaking ceremonies for Renewed Hope Cities and Estates.

States slated for the exercise include Ebonyi, Abia, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Osun, Oyo, Benue and Nasarawa.

The nationwide groundbreaking exercise is the sequel to the official launch of the housing programme by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu in February 2024, with the inauguration of 3,112 housing units in Karsana, Abuja and the successful groundbreaking of 1,500 housing units in five states in the north comprising Katsina, Yobe, Gombe, Sokoto and Kano from 22nd to 25th May 2024.

A statement issued by Mr Mark Chieshe, the Special Assistant, Media and Strategy to the Minister of Housing & Urban Development, on Sunday, stated that the schedule for the flag-off of construction activities will begin with 250 housing units in Ebonyi on Wednesday, 26th June 2024, followed by 250 units in Abia on Thursday, 27th June 2024; 250 units in Akwa Ibom on Friday, 28th June 2024; and 250 units in Delta State on Saturday, 29th June 2024.

According to him, the others are 250 units in Osun (Tuesday 2nd July 2024), 250 units in Oyo (Wednesday 3rd July 2024), 250 units in Benue (Friday 5th July 2024), and 250 units in Nasarawa (Saturday 6th July 2024), bringing the total to 2,000 housing units in the eight states.

“This brings the total number of units under the Renewed Hope Cities and Estates Programme since the official launch in February to 6,612. All the housing projects are scheduled to be completed and commissioned by the end of 2024 in line with the commitment of the minister to ensure housing projects are speedily completed and occupied by Nigerians who need them.

“Each Renewed Hope Estate in Ebonyi, Akwa Ibom, Abia, Delta, Osun, Oyo, Benue, and Nasarawa will comprise 50 units of one-bedroom semi-detached bungalow, 100 units of 2-bedroom semi-detached bungalow, and 50 units of 3-bedroom semi-detached bungalow”, the statement stated.

Back to top button