JUST IN: Rivers Governor Fubara Swears In 23 LG Caretaker Committee Chairmen

Rivers State Governor, Siminalayi Fubara, has sworn in 23 new caretaker chairmen for the 23 local government areas of the state.

The swearing in was done on Wednesday at the Government House in Port Harcourt, the state capital amid tight security.

They were sworn in at the Council Chambers in batches with the first 11 CTC chairmen taking their oath of office before others.

This is coming despite protest by the LG chairmen appointed by ex-governor Nyesom Wike who’s the FCT Minister.

They argued that factional assembly members led by ex-speaker Martin Amaewhule had extended their stay for six months and declared their support for Wike, whose political fallout with Fubara has isolated him in the affairs of the state.

The Amaewhule-led assembly vetoed the law following Fubara’s refusal to sign the law extending the LG Chairmen into law.

The governor, in defiance to the sound of the war drum from Wike loyalists forwarded the list to the state House of Assembly led by Speaker, Victor Jumbo, a few days ago.

The lawmakers subsequently invited the nominees for screening as early as 8 am on Wednesday.

Those sworn in were:

Abua/Odua LGA – Madigai Dickson

Ahoada East LGA – Happy Benneth

Ahoada West LGA – Mr. Daddy John Green

Akuku Toru LGa – Otonye Briggs

Andoni LGA – Reginald Ekaan

Asari Toru LGA – Orolosoma Amachree

Bonny LGA – Alabota Anengi Barasua

Degema LGA – Anthony Soberekon

Eleme LGA – Brain Gokpa

Emouha LGA – David Omereji

Etche LGA – John Otamiri

Gokana LGA – Kenneth Kpeden

Ikwerre LGA – Darlington Orji

Khana LGA – Marvin Yobana

Obia/Akpor LGA – Chijioke Ihunwo

Ogba/Egbema/Ndoni LGA – Princewill Ejekwe

Ogu/Bolo LGA – Evans Bipi

Okrika LGA – Princess Ogan

Omuma LGA – Promise Reginald

Opobo/Nkoro LGA – Enyiada Cookey-Gam

Oyigbo LGA – – Gogo Philip

Back to top button