Full List Of 21 Local Government Areas In Nigeria Experiencing Flooding

No fewer than 21 local government areas in 10 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) have been submerged by flood as a result of torrential rainfall in the past few days.

The Minister of Water Resources and Sanitation, Engr Joseph Utserv, alongside the Minister of State for Water Resource and Sanitation, Bello Goronyo, and the Director General, Nigeria Hydrological Services (NIHSA) disclosed this at a briefing in Abuja.

According to them, some states had started experiencing varying levels of flooding and its associated disasters as early as April in 2024.

Utserv noted that most of the flood incidents recorded so far were flash/urban floods resulting from high rainfall intensities of long duration and poor and blocked drainage systems.

Below is a list of 21 Local government areas that have experienced flood.

1. AMAC (Abuja Municipal Area Council), FCT

2. Kuje, FCT

3. Gwagwalada, FCT

4. Bwari, FCT

5. Kwali, FCT

6. Onitsha North, Anambra

7. Benin, Edo

8. Makurdi, Benue

9. Oke-Ero, Kwara

10. Moro, Kwara

11. Onitsha North, Anambra

12. Agege, Lagos

13. Alimosho, Lagos

14. Ikorodu, Lagos

15. Lagos Island, Lagos

16. Ikeja, Lagos

17. Eti-Osa, Lagos

18. Ijebu-Ode, Ogun

19. Oriade, Osun

20. Doma, Nasarawa

21. Takum, Taraba

Back to top button