Six Nigerian-British Candidates Win Election To UK Parliament

Six British-Nigerian candidates have been elected to Parliament in the just concluded UK elections.

According to reports, Chi Onwurah (Labour MP for Newcastle Central and West), Kemi Badenoch (Saffron Walden), Kate Osamor (Edmonton), Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall and Camberwell Green), Taiwo Owatemi (Coventry North West), and Bayo Alaba (Southend East and Rochford) all won their respective seats.

In the past, other Nigerian-British politicians have also made history in UK politics. Helen Grant, a British-Nigerian politician, became the first African-born Conservative MP in 2010.

Similarly, Chuka Umunna, a British-Nigerian politician, was elected as a Labour MP in 2010 and later became the chair of the Vote Leave campaign.

This latest crop of Nigerian-British MPs joins a growing list of trailblazers who are making a significant impact in UK politics.

The successful candidates have been praised for their hard work and dedication to their constituencies, and are expected to bring a unique perspective to the House of Commons.

Back to top button