The 39 Anti-LGBTQ+ Countries Including An Islamic Republic That Signed Samoa Agreement

Confusion has surrounded Nigeria’s stance on same-sex marriage following its recent involvement in the Samoa Agreement, signed on June 28 in Brussels, Belgium.

This agreement serves as a new framework for relations between the European Union (EU) and countries within the African, Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP) group.

The Samoa Agreement, initially signed by the EU and other member states of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) on November 15, 2023, officially took effect on January 1, 2024. This agreement aims to foster enhanced cooperation among 79 nations over a 20-year period, covering areas such as democracy, human rights, economic growth, climate change, and more.

A point of contention has been the agreement’s reference to sexual orientation and gender identity, sparking debates and concerns over its implications on Nigeria’s laws against same-sex marriages.

Detailed checks by TheCable have unveiled that several ACP countries, including Nigeria, initially hesitated to sign the agreement due to these concerns.

To address the apprehensions, a compromise was reached where all participating countries agreed to “promote, protect, and fulfil all human rights, whether they are civil, political, economic, social, or cultural.”

This compromise specifies a commitment to implementing existing international agreements focused on a broad spectrum of human rights, which does not explicitly equate to approval of same-sex marriage by the Nigerian government.

The Federal Government of Nigeria has reaffirmed its stance, consistent with the nation’s laws, that the endorsement of the Samoa Agreement does not signify a shift in its position regarding same-sex marriage.

The agreement’s broad framework allows for the protection of human rights without contravening Nigeria’s established legal and cultural norms.

The misinterpretation of the Samoa Agreement’s implications has led to widespread speculation and concern among the Nigerian populace.

Signatories to the Samoa Agreement are 48 African countries, 16 countries from the Caribbean and 15 Pacific countries — accounting for about two billion people.


South Africa, Angola, Cape Verde, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia , Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Uganda, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Eswatini, Tanzania, Chad, Togo, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The Caribbean

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Saint Christophe and Nevis, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago

The Pacific

Cook Islands, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Timor Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Back to top button